Solstice.

Today is the longest day of the year. How are you spending it? 

Trudging home after work to my apartment and flopping down on the couch, I looked at my housemate, my best friend, and gave myself permission to finally relax. ‘Want to do the groceries?’ she questioned me. No, I didn’t really, but I guess i couldn’t tell her that. A girl’s gotta eat after all. As we headed out the door in a frenzy of jangling keys, dropped wallets and chattering voices, the setting sun shined through the window and into our eyes. Sliding my sunglasses over my fringe to settle on the bridge of my nose, I couldn’t help but to think about how much I loved the sun. We drove to the local grocery store as I dreamed of the beach, the waves, the sun and the imminent wind, whipping my legs, leaving them dry and burnt. After fighting over the grocery load for way too long, eventually we made our way home, procrastinating from unpacking once we got there. After raiding the fridge for cheese and biscuits we flopped on the couch once again, throwing on a movie and enjoying the last  rays of sun as they shined through the open curtains. Glancing at the clock, I couldn’t help but feel disappointed that it was dark. At 5pm, the sun was gone from our sky.

I am glad, and thankful, to be living in the southern Hemisphere. But not glad, nor thankful, to be dreaming of the warmth of the beach on the shortest day of the year.  

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

2 thoughts on “Solstice.”

Leave a Reply

